For as much as I am ‘puppies and rainbows’ I am a realist.

Yes, I know, hard to believe since I am optimistic about nearly everything and perspective is my middle name (usually…).

But really, I am.

I think I’ve gone through enough in my life…hell, in the last two years alone, to realize that not everything is as it seems, not everything is perfect, relationships need work, friendships require respect and communication, and that no matter what, it’s worth seeing the happy than expecting the sad.

Why wait for the sad, or expect the sad, when there’s so much to be happy about?

I’m realistic.

…in knowing that if it feels right, it probably is (but that doesn’t mean it’s perfect or that it always will be).

…that friendships can only be sustained if both people are in it, committed, and honest (just like relationships), rather than worrying about saying the right things all the time.

…that love happens. In a day, a week, a month. It doesn’t matter. Sometimes it just happens and the timeframe doesn’t matter so much. It melts away. (but that doesn’t mean you have to – or should – stop living the rest of your life, with friends, family, and almost most importantly, yourself).

…that heartbreak will happen. Even if you try not to let it. It could be a friend, a man, or a family member. But it will happen (and you just get through it, because you are strong).

…that a night by yourself is sometimes just as psyche-healthy as a sweaty workout at the gym.

…and that there’s always going to be some bad in life, but as long as that is healthily weighted by a hell of a lot of good, that’s sometimes the best case scenario. (and the rest will fall into place).

I am realistic that no matter what, I’m happy because I choose to be happy.

It’s as simple as that.

