Your independence.

When I asked Doctor Boy what the one thing he loved most about me was, I wasn’t expecting the response I got.

Him: “I love so many things about you. Do I have to pick one?”

Me: Blushing. “Yes.”

Him: “I love your independence.”

Me: “Really?” That’s what you love most? Wow.”

…and not that I don’t agree that I am independent. I guess I didn’t expect for it to be that obvious that I *am* independent or for him to love that so much about me. But he does. And that means so much to me. Because he respects my routine (yet nudges me to let go just a little bit), he respects my need for a healthy balance of me time, friend time, and time spent with him. And he just genuinely loves me for me.

And more and more, I am falling so hard in love, and it doesn’t scare me one bit. He’s really it. The real deal. The one I want to spent every minute with, that ‘gets’ my humor (as his is similar), that is driven (check!), happy (check!), also independent (check!), supportive of my every decision, andΒ  one of the most generous men I have ever met (yet not in a going-overboard-to-woo-me way).

I told him that what I love about him is just that. His drive. His ambition. His generosity. HIM.

I love him. Through and through. He’s awesome.

Indescribable.

~~

And I never want to take it for granted. And I know I need to let go of my routine a little bit more. Or, invite him into it more. I do, to a point, but why not just embrace it? I will. One step at a time.

