I was trying to find a good quote for today to basically recap the year and this one struck a chord with me as I think it’s one some of you in this lovely bloggy family would appreciate and completely relate to as well.

“Never let go of hope. One day you will see that it all has finally come together. What you have always wished for has finally come to be. You will look back and laugh at what has passed and you will ask yourself… ‘How did I get through all of that?’

This year had its ups and downs. Started out okay, got rough in the middle (with Nala’s illness, financial struggles, frustrations and sadness over finding love, and my sister’s illness post-baby) and is now ending with a bang…love…a new beginning…and a lot to look forward to.

But looking back, at this year, and most certainly 2009 by far, it makes you realize how far you can get, even from the deepest feelings of despair. Of course, when tragedy strikes, it’s extremely difficult and won’t happen overnight, but when you get through the storm, the feeling is amazing. The strength, the resilience, the thankfulness, and for me, the most important is the perspective. It’s really gotten me through some difficulties by seeing things just slightly differently, realizing that things can *always* be worse, that life isn’t *that* bad and that while divorce is never easy, I’m grateful mine was not nearly as bad as many others have been, or could be.

And what I’ve wished for this year has completely come to me, and I can’t say it enough, I am grateful beyond words. To have a man in my life that treats me so well, that appreciates me, that loves me, and that makes me laugh, makes me smile, and makes my heart sing, is an incredible feeling.

It’s not the only thing I am grateful for this year, but it’s one of the many things that have made 2010 a life-defining year for me.

What about you? What defined your year? What came out of it that you most appreciate?

